Who has the tools to hammer the Milwaukee Summer Grand Slam?

Who has the tools to hammer the Milwaukee Summer Grand Slam?

05 August 2021

As the battle for the Bennetts British Superbike Championship continues to hot up, the countdown is on to the start of the Milwaukee Summer Grand Slam, as the riders will battle it out for a chance to win a £50,000 prize across the next two rounds.

The Bennetts BSB Milwaukee Summer Grand Slam will comprise of six races at the next two events – Donington Park National (August 13/14/15) and Cadwell Park (August 20/21/22).

The ultimate prize of £50,000 will be awarded if a rider can deliver an unstoppable performance across the two rounds and win all six races.

The last rider who consecutively won six Bennetts BSB races was reigning champion Josh Brookes onboard the Milwaukee Yamaha back in 2015. On his way to securing the title that season, he completed the feat twice with victories at Brands Hatch, Thruxton and Cadwell Park followed by Assen, Silverstone and the Brands Hatch season finale.

If a rider can win five of the six races, then they will claim a £25,000 prize and that has also been achieved before, most recently with Leon Haslam in his title-winning 2018 campaign. Together with the JG Speedfit Kawasaki team, they won five consecutive races at Brands Hatch, Oulton Park and Snetterton and followed it up again later in the season across the Cadwell Park and Silverstone races.

Another previous champion, Alex Lowes also secured five in a row back in 2013, putting the Samsung Honda at the top of the podium at Cadwell Park, Donington Park and Assen. 2009 champion Leon Camier was another rider to win five in a row, as did BSB Legend Steve Hislop back in 2001.

The final chance to win in the Milwaukee Summer Grand Slam will be to be victorious in four of the six races from the two rounds, which will reward the rider with a £10,000 prize.

Most recently, four in a row was accomplished by Scott Redding in his 2019 title-winning season across the Assen and Donington Park events, with Shane Byrne winning consecutively at Snetterton and Brands Hatch in 2017 and Leon Haslam at the 2016 races at Cadwell Park and Oulton Park.